The power of an image – even a very unrelated image…

Posted: 30 August, 2010 in My stuff
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

When I first saw this photo I was immediately, no seriously, immediately overcome with a cascade of emotions.  A profound sadness hit me first followed by equally profound sense of love and admiration.  I was powerfully reminded of the death of my father and my own mortality.  Loss, hope, love, grief and joy all swirled around inside me.  Even now as I write this I am on the edge of tears.

I did not grow up with Sesame Street; I am only ever so just a little too old to be of that ilk. However I did get to know the characters and the story and the personalities over the life of the series.  I did see the Muppet Movie though!  My reaction was probably little to do with childhood memories but more to do with a sense of relationship and loss.  So much so that I just had to blog my response.

I am sometimes amazed by the strength of my own emotional reactions to, what are sometimes, the strangest things.  I am still learning how to live fully as an emotional being.

Leave a comment